Simplify 4 Lives

A quest for a life that's simpler, sweeter, and a little more satisfying…

The Overwhelming Need to Simplify September 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — celestesda @ 2:27 am

So, here I am.  29 years old.  My life has become increasingly complicated lately.  Well, I say lately, but I think it’s probably always been that way.  I’m one of these people you might call an “overachiever” or a “pleaser”. Yep.  That’s me.  I put too many irons in the fire, only to burn my hand when I try to take them out.  I guess this goes all the way back to high school, and probably even childhood, when I wanted to do everything, and be the best at it.  Who knows where and when it started?

But, at 29, I’m finally realizing that I cannot be perfect, I cannot do everything, and I certainly can’t always be the best.  What has led me to realize that, you might ask?  I think a lot of different factors have led me to this realization; lack of sleep, constant tardiness, dirty, cluttered house, overwhelming finances, and just a general feeling of being spread too thin.  I am constantly deprived of sleep from trying to fit too many things into one day.  I run late a lot these days, because I’m trying to fit too much in, my finances suffer because they are overstretched from being, well, overstretched.  Too much month, not enough money.  This probably stems from buying too much.  I’m diving into that later, instead of getting too deep right now.  My house is never in order, because at this point, I don’t have time to maintain it and all the junk in it!

There is no one straw that has finally broken the camel’s back, but too many straws to number.  I do know this:  I am ready to simplify my life and the lives of my family.  My husband is on board with me, and I hope and believe my children will follow.  I’m tired of my life being centered around how much money we make, how many “things” we acquire, and how many different activities we can be involved in.  Don’t get me wrong, we’re still going to have a few things that are nice and be involved in a couple of activities, but I’m slowing teaching myself the word “NO”, and I’m beginning to use it! I’m proud of myself!

What is my goal?  A year from now, I hope life feels easier, tidy, satisfying, and happy.  I’m hoping that life will pass just a little bit slower, because life as it is now, feels like one of those roller-coasters that you’ve waited three hours in line for, and when you finally get on, you feel disoriented,  rushed, and sick by the time it’s over.

I want our family focus to center around three things:  God, family, and enjoying our one life here on Earth.  I think these are the first steps to our new, simplified, focused lives.  I hope you’ll take this journey with me, as I struggle through the complicated, unkempt, dissatisfying, crazy life that exists for me right now.

Leave me a comment!  How does the world around you feel right now?  Simple, Sweet, and Slow or  Complicated, Unkempt, and Crazy?  Let me know…

 

11 Responses to “The Overwhelming Need to Simplify”

  1. Mom Says:

    Amen daughter of mine! I’ve been trying to get you to slow down forever! I love it that you are coming to the realization at such a young age. Life is short, so enjoy the people that matter, because “things” really don’t matter. You are such an awesome mother, I love how you & Davy are raising the girls & in the end it will be the time you spend with them that will matter the most, not the things you buy them. Think about your own childhood memories & you will realize that it isn’t the “things” you remember, but the experiences with people you love. Keep on practicing your “no” techniques, just gotta learn to prioritize, that’s the key! Love you sweet girl!

  2. Betina Evans McCleskey Says:

    I would definitely agree with u Celeste on the spending more time with family. It seems like with every yr that goes by one must have the best of everything & everyone is rushing for the next best thing. I know I do. Then you look back & tell yourself what am I doing? I know that’s what is wrong with our country today. No more values or repect. Great blog girl.

  3. Stephanie Youngblood Says:

    Celeste, I think I know a little something about a crazy busy life, but I agree enjoying the moment you are in is the most important thing in the world. Juggling a family, work( by work I mean all that is involved with being a wife and mother also), and just everything life throws at us. I know it is a lot sometimes. I feel stretched to thin sometimes myself with the kids activities they are involved in( I only have two so far, don’t know how four is going to work), then my work, Jerry’s work, our extra extra curricular activities,plus when in the world is a girl suppose to find time to take care of herself because when mommy is run down everyone feels it. We live in a fast paced society, but don’t our kids grow up fast enough. I would rather enjoy them and the moment before it disappears. So great blog I feel your need for a slow down!!!

  4. Expressor Says:

    Reading your words made me think of another blog post I read once, one of my all time favorites. I go back to it occasionally to help me re-focus. Any way, I thought you might enjoy reading how she TRIES to order her family day with the “7 rungs” as they call them. Oh, and the photography is wonderful too. I pray you have a blessed and simplified day.

    http://www.aholyexperience.com/2009/10/day-in-life-of-homeschooling-7-rungs.html

  5. Shauna Says:

    I don’t know what it is about this year but what you wrote is exactly how I’m feeling (all but the 29 year-old part…alas I’m a few years older). I can’t seem to keep up with everything. I hear others around me at work saying the same thing. I’ll have to keep up with your blog to see how it’s going. Perhaps I can follow suit.

  6. I dropped by to see what you have been up to on your blog and this post hit me like a ton of bricks. I’m in the same boat with you and am ready for some peace, joy and order in my life as well. I’ve learned a lot about saying no to others, and it has been so freeing, but now I’m realizing more and more that my issue is saying no to myself. No to food that is bad for me, no to time-wasters, no to procrastination, no to my flesh when it wants to do something more fun than clean my house, no to thinking I can keep going like this and hold it all together… I can’t tell you how much I relate! I pray that you are successful in your journey and that God will give you endurance to finish the race!!!

    • celestesda Says:

      Thanks so much for all the great comments!! I’m so glad to know that I’m not alone, and I had a sneaking suspicion that I wasn’t, but it makes me feel so much better just knowing.

  7. Ashley Says:

    I really like the focus of this blog. I’ve always tried to keep my life simple but it always seems to elude me. That is one reason I started running. It was the simplest cheapest way to get undisturbed “me time” and now I just make it a necessity. Of course it takes time away from other things but I want my kids to know we don’t always have to be going going going or buying buying buying.

  8. Melissa Self Says:

    Very inspiring blogs!


Leave a Reply

